JAKARNAVAL 2013

On June 30th afternoon I’m supposed to meet up with a friend to do a project (will share it later when it’s done :D), but too bad she got sick and the whole plan was cancelled. Being suddenly idle, I got some nice idea to spend the rest of Sunday; seeing Jakarnaval. Jakarnaval is a part of Jakarta’s 486th birthday celebration. It’s a parade started from Balai Kota – Monas to Bunderan HI, the whole street was closed for this event. Mostly it’s about Betawi culture (Jakarta’s traditional culture) and all about Jakarta. Costume parade dominates this event. The governor, Mr. Joko Widodo a.k.a Jokowi intended Jakarnaval to be ‘pesta rakyat’ where every citizen without exception could enjoy it. Enough saying, here’s some photo from Jakarnaval 2013, enjoy!

Jakarta's governor, Jokowi, riding horse & wearing costume at parade's front line

Jakarta’s governor, Jokowi, riding horse & wearing costume at parade’s front line

Giant Ondel-Ondel -- Ondel-Ondel is Jakarta's traditional mascot

Giant Ondel-Ondel — Ondel-Ondel is Jakarta’s traditional mascot

Mini Ondel-Ondel riding bicycle. Usually Ondel-Ondel frightens me, but I must admit this one is kinda cute ;p

Mini Ondel-Ondel riding bicycle. Usually Ondel-Ondel frightens me, but I must admit this one is kinda cute ;p

A wide smile is the best accessories for fabulous costume

A wide smile is the best accessories for fabulous costume

Priceless expresion :)

Priceless expresion 🙂

Among the crowd, they started dancing

Among the crowd, they started dancing

The crowd at around 5:00 pm

The crowd at around 5:00 pm

There were also several other cultures performed here. This one is from Jember. Yeah, Jember Fashion Carnaval never failed to amuse anyone

There were also other cultures performed here. This one was from Jember. Yeah, Jember Fashion Carnaval never failed to amuse everyone

I just couldn't resist this one ;D Could this be Jember Marching Band?

I just couldn’t resist uploading this one ;D Could this be Jember Marching Band?

Too bad I was unable to make it until the end, due to my camera’s battery life & I needed to leave at 5:00 pm (I left my grandma alone at home). But I was lucky enough to see the rest of the parade on my way back. I literally walked on foot from home (Pecenongan) – Bunderan HI – home. I think I killed my legs, haha, but that was fun!

** On the sad note, this event still had the usual disturbing problem, the trash! The more the crowd, the more the trash was. Gosh, I wonder if there’s any way to (somehow magically) make citizens of Jakarta be aware of their very own city’s cleanliness. I could see oily liquid floating inside the pond, not to mention people stepped on flower bed without any guilt. You can’t expect superb work from your government when you don’t even start it from yourself, can you?

One comment

Leave a Reply

